Skip to main content

Cricket Club Update

Upcoming Fixtures

at 7th September (11.00), 1sts v Clontarf 1sts, Championship, Park Avenue (Note earlier starting time).

Sun 8th September (12.30), 3rds v Pembroke 3rds, Division 6, Sydney Parade 1.

Sun 8th September (12.00), 4ths v Dundalk 1sts, Division 10, Park Avenue.

The post Upcoming Fixtures appeared first on Railway Union Cricket Club.

Read more »
share on Twitter Like Upcoming Fixtures on Facebook

National Cup Champions

Published on Sep 06, 2019 03:10 pm

Glenn Querl became the first Railway captain to lift the Clear Currency National Cup after defeating Ardmore by 19 runs in a gripping match at North County Cricket Club last Sunday.

After winning the toss and choosing to bat, we found ourselves in trouble at 39 for 3 with Kenny, Kev and Alex all back in the hutch. We then rebuilt through the middle-order, led by Saad who made 38 from 32 balls. Glen and Hashir also made valuable contributions.

Ardmore fought back again and claimed late wickets to then have us on the rack at 120-8, but the Railway Digamber, Jacko and Eoghan eked out a vital 39 runs for the last two wickets and gave us a target to defend.

The run chase started slowly, with Ardmore losing early wickets, and finding themselves at 31-4, which included the crucial losses of the in-form Peet Pienaar and experienced Dekker Curry.

A counter-attacking innings of 40 from 43 balls from Jared Wilson, which included four sixes, got the Ulster-side back in the contest – aided by a steady 31 from Ciaran Curley.

But, in the end, wickets to Hashir (3-20) and Kev (2-29) brought the Ardmore chase to an end on 140.

Hashir was named Player of the Match for his all-round performance.

Read more here

See more photos on the Cricket Europe website –

The post National Cup Champions appeared first on Railway Union Cricket Club.

Recent Results

Published on Sep 06, 2019 03:08 pm

1st Sept, 1sts v Ardmore 1sts, National Cup Final, Inch
Railway 159 all out (36.5 overs), Saad Ullah 38, Glenn Querl 21, Kevin O’Brien 16, Digamber Mishra 16, Andy Jackson 15*, Hashir Sultan 15, Conor Brolly 3-31, Gary Neely 3-35, Jared Wilson 2-30
Ardmore 140 all out (36.4 overs), Jared Wilson 40, Ciaran Curley 31, Hashir Sultan 3-20, Prabhanshu Kamal 2-22, Kevin O’Brien 2-29 (Kenny Carroll 3 catches)
Player of the Match: Hashir Sultan.

1st September, 4ths v Malahide 4ths, Division 10, Malahide 1
Malahide 210 for 4 (40 overs), Martin Russell 63*, Shamil Koottembeth 43, Adam Doyle 31, Brian Gilmore 31*, Adam Benson 3-20
Railway 211 for 3 (38.5 overs), Ajay Kumar Yadav 99, Varun Ghorpade 59, James Garrigan 2-31 (Ajay scored 118 in his previous game against Dundalk 1sts on 25th August).

1st September, 2nds v Malahide 2nds, Division 3, Park Avenue
Railway 95 for 7 (20 overs), Fakhar Zaman 21, Paddy Duffy 18, Callum Riches 3-14, Matthew Joffring Carrick 3-17
Malahide 97 for 6 (18.3 overs), Agnibesh Paul 43, Michael Hingston 28, Fakhar Zaman 2-22.

31 August, 3rds v Castleknock 1sts, Division 6, Porterstown

31 August, Women v Rush W2, Division W3, Kenure
Railway 117 for 2 (20 overs), Ciara O’Brien 41*, Aoife O’Brien 35*
Rush 96 for 3 (20 overs), Rebeca Gough 28, Ailbhe Beggs 24, Ali Nolan 1-25, Eimear Linehan 1-28.

Cricket Leinster Club Draw

Published on Sep 06, 2019 03:06 pm

Tickets sales have been going well for the Cricket Leinster Club Draw. Members who have taken tickets are asked to return the stubbs and cash or the unsold tickets this weekend. There are still more tickets available for 10 euro or 6 for 50 euro. If you feel you could sell a book or if you would like to buy one, contact Ger O’Brien (0863232566 or ).

Cricket Dinner 2019

Published on Sep 06, 2019 03:00 pm

The end of season dinner will be held in the clubhouse on Saturday 19th October at 7.30 and the price will be no more than €40pp.

Please let Judy ( know if you wish to attend and if you have any dietary requirements.

The post Cricket Dinner 2019 appeared first on Railway Union Cricket Club.


Published on Sep 06, 2019 02:49 pm
The Annual General Meeting of the Cricket Club will be held at the Club, on Friday 27th September 2018 at 7.30 pm
Agenda for AGM
• Apologies
• Minutes of 2019 AGM
• President’s Report
• Chairman’s report
• Honorary Treasurer’s report
• Captains’ reports: 1sts, 2nds, 3rds, 4ths and 5ths
• Women’s Section Report
• Youth Section Report
• Election of Officers:
o President
o Vice-Presidents
o Honorary Secretary
o Honorary Treasurer
o Honorary Team Secretary
o Election of four Ordinary Members to General Committee
• Election of Captains: 1sts, 2nds, 3rds, 4ths, 5ths and Women’s XI
• Election of Honorary Auditor
• Any Other Business

The post RUCC AGM NOTICE appeared first on Railway Union Cricket Club.