Skip to main content

Joey O’Meara Cup

Yesterday saw a great day of hockey in Sandymount with the 15th annual Joey O’Meara boys under 16 tournament taking place.

8 teams participated; Railway Union, Pembroke Wanderers, YMCA, Corinthians, Wicklow,  Monkstown, Kilkenny and Three Rock Rovers. 15 matches over group stages and knock out were played. The first matches tipped off at 10am and the final between Kilkenny and  Corithians concluded just after 5pm in what was a festival of hockey played in glorious sunshine.

Thanks to Pembroke Wanderers for kindly hosting one of the groups. Thanks to umpires Mark English, Rob Devlin, John Maguire, Mateusz Nowakowski, Fred Gilmore, Ken Moulton and Donal Marren for kindly officiating all the matches .

Well done to Kilkenny who won the Cup for the first time, overcoming Corinthians in the final. Valerie O’Meara was on hand to present the cup to the victorious Kilkenny team. The standard of hockey throughout was top notch and bodes well for the future of hockey in Leinster.

We look forward to the 16th edition next summer.

Pictured below are the Cup winners Kilkenny and also the Railway Union team who lost narrowly to Kilkenny in the group stage.