Our Club



Inclusive Attitude


Community Driven


Caters for all ages!


Range of Sports

The Railway and Steam Packet Athletic and Social Union (aka Railway Union Sports Club), is a multi-sports club situated in the leafy suburb of Sandymount, not far from Dublin City centre. Bowls, cricket, hockey, rugby, soccer and tennis are all played at our club at various levels and age grades. Our Club Constitution is available here. Our Club facilities include:
  • A full size 6-rink bowling green
  • A top class floodlit Astro Hockey pitch
  • 6 grass and 5 floodlit all-weather tennis courts
  • Two soccer pitches
  • A cricket ground
  • A full size rugby pitch
Our Club also has a fully licensed bar and newly refurbished function room to cater for members and visitors social events throughout the year!

Famous Past & Present Players

Kevin O’Brien

Kevin O’Brien is currently Vice Captain of the Ireland Cricket Team and holds the record for the fastest century ever scored at a World Cup, coming from 50 balls against England on 2 March 2011. He started playing cricket with Railway Union Cricket Club in Dublin and has been there ever since. He made his Irish debut in 2006 and took a wicket with his first ever ball in One Day International game, the 3rd person to do that in history of game. In the 2007 World Cup in West Indies Kevin was an integral part of the squad which beat Pakistan on St Patrick’s day, beat Bangladesh in the super 8’s and tied with Zimbabwe in Ireland’s first ever World Cup game. He played in the T20 World Cup in 2009 held in England. Scored 39 not out in 17 balls against Bangladesh to seal our Super 8 participation. Kevin is a patron of cricket in Ireland and has set up The Kevin O’Brien Cricket Academy. The Academy works with Irish clubs, colleges and schools in improving their game through tailored coaching, 1 on 1 sessions and team development, with remarkable success to date. School/summer camps and 1 on 1 consultations are also available.
International Rugby Representative Honours Women Ireland XV: Cliodhna Moloney, Ciara Cooney, Lindsay Peat, Ailsa Hughes, Kim Flood, Nikki Caughey, Larissa Muldoon Ireland 7s: Emma Murphy, Stacey Flood, Kim Flood, Amee Leigh-Crowe, Eve Higgins, Martina McCarthy, Kim Flood, Susan Vaughan, Chloe Blackmore, Katie Heffernan Ireland Schools 7s: Emma Murphy, Stacey Flood, Fiona Tuite, Megan O’Brien, Eve Higgins Men 1912/13 E.W. Jeffares (2 Ireland Caps) and R.D. Patterson (8 Ireland Caps) 1902/1911 G.T. Hamlet (32 Ireland Caps) 1879 Jim William Golding (Ireland v Scotland)  

Railway Union Sports Club

Management Committee 2021 – Officers

Chairperson:   Paul O’Brien
Secretary:       Derek Carroll
Treasurer:       Graham Chisholm
Grounds:         Kenneth Carroll
Marketing:      Derek Collins

Additional Management Committee members:

Alan Horgan (Rugby)
Jim Clarke (Soccer)
Andrew Haughton (Bowls)
Yvonne Flanagan (Bridge)
Simon Grehan (Cricket)

Nominations for 2021/2022 Management Committee Officers (as at August 2021)

Chairperson:    Paul O’Brien (Hockey) 

Treasurer:        Graham Chisholm (Bowls)

Secretary:         Derek Carroll (Hockey)

Grounds:          Kenneth Carroll (Cricket)

Marketing:       Derek Collins (Tennis)